Soon to be Released: Mount Kimbie – Cold Spring Fault Less Youth

It’s been three years since their first full length off Hotflush Recordings, Crooks & Lovers was released as we come upon the duo’s second LP which will be off Warp records at the end of May.  Cold Spring Fault Less Youth introduces more live instrumentation along with vocal collaborations from young likes as London’s King Krule while making use of their own vocals as well.   Mount Kimbie has implied this album is taking on a new sonic direction reflecting the passing of time and tastes evolving.  The album track Made to Stray was premiered on Ben UFO’s Rinse FM show earlier this month, suggesting a dubby house beat accompanied by the duo’s vocals.  In addition to this, ‘Made To Stray’ has been made available as a free download.  It’s hard to say what’s in store for the rest of the album, I’ll have to wait and see.  I’ve been a long time fan of Mount Kimbie’s, everything from their original tracks to remixes they’ve produced, along with a great creative style for videos and album covers… all around, I really appreciate these guys and am excited and curious to see if how I respond to this next release.

01. Home Recording
02. You Took Your Time feat. King Krule
03. Break Well
04. Blood and Form
05. Made To Stray
06. So Many Times, So Many Ways
07. Lie Near
08. Meter, Pale, Tone feat. King Krule
09. Slow
10. Sullen Ground
11. Fall Out

Warp will release Cold Spring Fault Less Youth on May 28th, 2013.


Check out my response to the album release HERE


About Once Was Now

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: